Tribal Government

by Mescalero Apache Tribe | October 20, 2015 4:43 pm

The powers of government within the Mescalero Apache Tribe are divided into three distinct departments: Executive, Legislative, and Judicial.


The Executive Department of the Mescalero Apache Tribe Government consist of a president, a vice-president, a secretary, and a treasurer. The president and vice-president of the Mescalero Apache Tribe are elected and the remaining officers are appointed by the president in agreement with the tribal council.   

Gabe Aguilar                                  President

Eddie Martinez                                     Vice President

Larry Brusuelas, Jr.                       Secretary

Alfred LaPaz                                         Treasurer


The legislative powers of the Mescalero Apache Tribe rests in the collaborative Mescalero Apache Tribal Council whom hold sessions at the seat of the tribal government. The tribal council consist of eight (8) members, including the Secretary and Treasurer of the Executive officers, that are elected at large through voting from enrolled tribal members of the Mescalero Apache Tribe.


Merilee Garcia                                     Tribal Councilwoman

Fernando Rocha                                 Tribal Councilman

Bernalyn Via                                         Tribal Councilwoman

Frederick Chino Sr.                                  Tribal Councilman

Dawn Hosetosavit                                     Tribal Councilwoman


The judicial power of the Mescalero Apache Tribe is vested in the Tribal Courts[1], including a Trial and Appellate Court. The trial court consist of a chief judge and two associate judges appointed by the President of the Mescalero Apache Tribe in accordance by the tribal council of not less than a three-fourths majority vote.

Contact Info:

Tribal Council Office (575) 464-4494

Tribal Court Office (575) 464-0414 

  1. Tribal Courts:

Source URL: